Tennessee Alliance of Support Coordinators

The Linda Maurer Award

The Linda Maurer Award

Annually, the Tennessee Alliance of Support Coordinators (TASC) recognizes a Support Coordinator in each grand region of the state (East, Middle and West) who demonstrates excellence in the practice of independent support coordination (ISC) services for persons with intellectual disabilities enrolled in the state’s HCBS Medicaid waiver programs.  This award is established as a legacy in the memory of the late Linda Maurer, former Executive Director of Neighborhood Network, Inc. 

Linda was a well-respected and admired leader among her ISC colleagues.  For 13 years, Linda was instrumental in many of the important initiatives undertaken to improve and enhance ISC services for persons with intellectual disabilities and their families in Tennessee.  She served in various leadership roles within TASC for many years.  TASC is a stronger and more viable association as a result of Linda's contributions and leadership.

Nominations for the 2015 Linda Maurer Award are being accepted now.

Please download and use the nomination form found here.

The deadline for submitting nominations is August 31, 2015.

Nominations should be submitted via email to:

Linda Maurer ISC Award Nomination Form 2015.docx
41.2 KB

The Award:

Each recipient of the Linda Maurer Award receives special recognition of
his/her work and achievements and a cash award of
$1,000 from the Tennessee Alliance of Support Coordinators.

The Award Standards:

  • The recipient is an employee in good standing at a TASC member agency.
  • The recipient has shown an application of person-centered thinking in his or her work.
  • The recipient has demonstrated successful application of person-centered tools in his or her work.
  • The recipient encourages the use of person-centered thinking and practices within circles of support.
  • The recipient has facilitated positive change, self-discovery and self-direction in the life of a person with an intellectual disability.
  • The recipient adheres to the TASC Code of Ethics for Support Coordination.

The 2014 Linda Maurer Award Winners

The 2014 Recipients of the Linda Maurer Award:

  • Carrie Bennett with Compass Coordination, Inc.; and
  • Shannon Rone with the Arc of Davidson County.
On October 15, 2014, TASC held a reception to present the 2014 Linda Maurer Award and to acknowledge everyone nominated for this year's Award. Those in attendance included members of Linda Maurer's family; ISCs who were nominated for this year's Award, their family members and colleagues, including staff from TASC member agencies; DIDD provider agencies; and representatives from the central and regional offices of the Department of Intellectual and Developmental Disabilities (DIDD).

Website Builder